The three most important parts of a book are: a well constructed plot, compelling characters, and a satisfying conclusion.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

A HEART'S BETRAYAL (Journey of the Heart #4) By Colleen Coble

Publisher:  Thomas Nelson
Release Date:  June 2015
Genre: Christian Historical Fiction
Format: Paperback

About the Book: 
Emmie finds shelter in the arms of a soldier, but her secret could drive them apart.

When Emmie Croftner answered the door to her late husband's home, she discovered a terrible truth. A woman she's never met reveals that she and Emmie shared the same husband and that the bigamist had never divorced his first wife. The home and farm are not Emmie's property after all.

Suddenly displaced and powerless, Emmie realizes she can't stay in Wabash, Indiana, any longer. She makes for Fort Laramie, Wyoming, where her friend Sarah Montgomery and a new beginning await her. But when she arrives, she discovers she's carrying a child, conceived before her husband's death. Was the new start she'd hoped for only a mirage?

At Fort Laramie, a soldier named Isaac Liddle begins to court Emmie, prompting her to wonder whether she could ever really be his--and whether she dares to tell him she is carrying another man's baby.

Wanda's Thoughts:  I was sadly disappointed in this book, which seemed to have an intriguing and promising premise, but it just didn’t measure up to my expectations.

I would not have needed to read the book. The entire story was told in the synopsis and then it went absolutely nowhere. It was lacking depth in both the storyline and the characters.

On a positive note – I appreciated the beautiful descriptive writing by an author I’ve truly enjoyed in the past. This was part 4 of the 6 installments to The Journey of the Heart series. Perhaps if I had read the first 3 books it might have made a difference to me, but unfortunately this story alone never touched me. My rating is 2 stars.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

About the Author: USAToday bestselling author Colleen Coble lives with her husband, Dave, in Indiana. She is the author of dozens of novels including the Rock Harbor Series, the Aloha Reef Series, the Mercy Falls Series, the Hope Beach Series, the Lonestar Series and two Women of Faith fiction selections, Alaska Twilight and Midnight Sea. She has more than 2 million books in print.