The three most important parts of a book are: a well constructed plot, compelling characters, and a satisfying conclusion.

Sunday, March 15, 2015

LAST ONE HOME By Debbie Macomber

Publisher:  Ballantine Books
Release Date:  March 10, 2015
Pages:  336
Genre:  Women's Fiction
5 Stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book Description:  Debbie Macomber, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Blossom Street and Cedar Cove series, will win readers’ hearts with her utterly fresh and poignant new stand-alone novel.

In Last One Home, three sisters who couldn’t be more different try to repair old wounds—and discover that, through all the ups and downs of life, they remain family and can depend one another.

Wanda's Thoughts:  Last One Home is a very light and “comfy” read, but with strong family dynamics throughout.

Cassie had burned her bridges with her family, sisters, and past life. She had sacrificed everything that was important to her because she’d been young and foolish. She’d been a naive and rebellious teenager who’d been convinced she was doing the right thing by marrying the father of her baby. She’d lost all her self-esteem and pride and paid repeatedly through the years for her bad decisions.

And the story unfolds with interesting twists as Cassie and her daughter make a new life for themselves. Cassie returns back home to collect some leftover furniture from her parents’ home. And now, after all these years, she comes face-to-face with her sisters.

The author clearly understands the human heart as she tells this story of love, hope, and forgiveness. The endearing characters will capture your heart. Cassie was such an incredibly forgiving person, and her daughter Aimee was wonderfully portrayed and added sparkle and humor to the storyline. This is a deeply touching and beautifully told story with the sweetness of a new found love. 5 stars.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Goodreads as a 1st reads winner.

About the Author:  Debbie Macomber is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and one of today’s most popular writers with more than 170 million copies of her books in print worldwide. Macomber brings to life the compelling relationships that embrace family, community and enduring friendships, filling her readers with a sense of love and hope.

Macomber is the author of more than 100 novels, most recently the instant #1 New York Times bestseller Starting Now, and The Inn at Rose Harbor; two bestselling cookbooks; numerous inspirational and nonfiction works; two acclaimed children’s books and the Mrs. Miracle Christmas novels. She is also the author of beloved and bestselling series of novels set in Cedar Cove, Washington (such as 16 Lighthouse Road, 204 Rosewood Lane, 311 Pelican Court) on which Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove, Hallmark Channel’s first dramatic scripted television series, is based. She is the recipient of a RITA® award; an RT Book Reviews Lifetime Achievement Award, and is a multiple winner of both the Holt Medallion and the B. Dalton Award. In 2010, the Romance Writers of America presented Macomber with their prestigious Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award. Her next novel to be published will be ROSE HARBOR IN BLOOM (August 13, 2013).

In addition to her bestselling novels, Macomber owns her own tea room, Victorian Rose Tea Room & yarn store, A Good Yarn, named after the shop featured in her popular Blossom Street novels. She and her husband, Wayne, serve on the Guideposts National Advisory Cabinet, and she was recently named World Vision’s international spokesperson for their Knit for Kids charity initiative.

A devoted grandmother, Debbie and her husband Wayne live in Port Orchard, Washington State (the town on which her Cedar Cove novels are based) and winter in Florida.