The three most important parts of a book are: a well constructed plot, compelling characters, and a satisfying conclusion.

Monday, October 6, 2014

IN PERFECT TIME (Wings of the Nightingale #3) By Sarah Sundin

In Perfect Time by Sarah SundinPublisher:  Revell
Release Date:  August 5, 2014
Pages:  416
Genre:  Christian Historical Fiction

About the Book:  Flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, but C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper is immune to her charms. Throughout Italy and southern France, as she evacuates the wounded and he delivers paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them where they don't want to go.

Wanda's Thoughts:  WWII - 1944 - Over the Mediterranean - Lt. Kay Jobson was an efficient and competent flight nurse. She loved the glamour of flight, the challenge of nursing, and being able to lift the spirits of the sick and wounded. She'd seen so much pain, illness and suffering. 

Kay wasn't a very likable character in the beginning. She was a beautiful and flirtatious woman who attracted the attention of men very easily and used it for her own good. Controlling men was her revenge against her father. He had rejected her, but men accepted her. Kay's life changes when she becomes acquainted with Lt. Roger Cooper, but he is totally blind to her charms. 

Roger has a past life he is struggling to forget, and he goes out of his way to avoid women. His passion is to join a big band, as a drummer, after the war has ended. 

And the story unfolds as a romance blossoms slowly between Kay and Roger. There is a transformation in Kay as she becomes a Christian. She tries to shape her life, but it just seems to get harder for her, and Roger resists God's good gifts in his life. 

The storyline has strong themes of friendship, romance, and redemption with strong religious overtones. The characters were endearing and the author certainly brought out the human relationships in her writing. The story evolves slowly, (perhaps too slowly) and gives the reader plenty of time to get to know each character in depth. The story didn't grab me in the beginning, and the relationship between Kay and Roger became rather redundant throughout. However, the last third of the book became more compelling, blending love and acceptance into a satisfying, although predictable, conclusion. My rating is 4 stars.
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Sarah Sundin
About the Author:  Sarah Sundin enjoys writing about the drama and romance of the World War II era. The Wings of the Nightingale series (With Every Letter, 2012, On Distant Shores, August 2013, and In Perfect Time, August 2014) follows three World War II flight nurses as they find love, friendship, and peril in the skies and on the shores of the Mediterranean. The Wings of Glory series from Revell (A Distant Melody, A Memory Between Us, and Blue Skies Tomorrow) follows three brothers who are B-17 bomber pilots during World War II. 

Sundin lives in northern California with her husband, three children, an antisocial cat, and a yellow lab bent on destroying her writing career. When she isn't driving kids to tennis and karate, she works on-call as a hospital pharmacist and teaches Sunday school and women's Bible studies.